Ingredients, colour-coded
What needs attention
- HaramCarmine (cochineal)
Insects and their by-products are forbidden according to Darul Ifta Birmingham, which cites all mainstream schools. Indonesia's MUI declared cochineal colourings halal (Fatwa No. 33 of 2011). The default setting avoids it; you can change this in your insect setting.
- DoubtfulE435 · Polysorbate 60
Depends on the source of the fatty acid. Found in cake mixes and toppings.
- DoubtfulEmulsifier (source not stated)
The word "emulsifier" does not say which one is used. Several emulsifiers, including E471, are made from glycerol and fatty acids that can come from plants or animal fat, and the pack rarely says which. Doubtful unless the pack names a plant source, or shows a vegetarian, vegan or halal label.
- DoubtfulWhey
Whey comes from cheese making, so the rennet question applies: pig rennet is prohibited, rennet from a correctly slaughtered animal is permitted, and rennet from an animal that was not slaughtered is disputed. The pack rarely says which rennet was used. Doubtful unless it came from cheese made with microbial rennet, or the product has a halal logo.
- DoubtfulFlavourings
The word "flavouring" does not say what a flavour is made from or dissolved in. Most are plant-based or synthetic, but some are carried in alcohol or glycerol of unstated source, and a few contain animal ingredients. Doubtful unless the pack says plant-based or alcohol-free, or shows a halal logo.
Full ingredient list
Wheat Flour (with added Calcium, Iron, Niacin, Thiamin), Sugar, Vegetable Oils (Palm, Rapeseed), Plum and Raspberry Jam (Glucose-Fructose Syrup, Plum Purée, Sugar, Raspberry Purée, Gelling Agent (Pectin), Acid (Citric Acid), Acidity Regulator (Sodium Citrates), Colour (Anthocyanins), Preservative (Potassium Sorbate), Flavouring), Glucose Syrup, Glacé Cherries (Cherries, Sugar, Acidity Regulator (Citric Acid), Preservatives (Potassium Sorbate, Sulphur Dioxide), Colour (Carmine), Icing Sugar, Ground Rice, Desiccated Coconut, Whey Powder (Milk), Skimmed Milk Powder, Dried Egg White, Ground Almonds, Salt, Dextrose, Emulsifiers (Sorbitan Monostearate, Polysorbate 60), Raising Agents (Disodium Diphosphate, Sodium Bicarbonate), Humectant (Vegetable Glycerine), Flavouring.
What to check on this pack
The first ingredient listed is wheat flour and the list has 31 named ingredients. No halal or dietary label appears in the product data. 5 of the named ingredients need a closer look:
- carmine (cochineal) (haram): Insects and their by-products are forbidden according to Darul Ifta Birmingham, which cites all mainstream schools. Indonesia's MUI declared cochineal colourings halal (Fatwa No. 33 of 2011). The default setting avoids it; you can change this in your insect setting. To confirm for this product, ask the maker for the source of the carmine (cochineal).
- E435 (Polysorbate 60) (doubtful): Depends on the source of the fatty acid. Found in cake mixes and toppings. To confirm for this product, ask the maker for the source of the e435 (polysorbate 60).
- emulsifier (source not stated) (doubtful): The word "emulsifier" does not say which one is used. Several emulsifiers, including E471, are made from glycerol and fatty acids that can come from plants or animal fat, and the pack rarely says which. Doubtful unless the pack names a plant source, or shows a vegetarian, vegan or halal label. To confirm for this product, ask the maker for the source of the emulsifier (source not stated).
- whey (doubtful): Whey comes from cheese making, so the rennet question applies: pig rennet is prohibited, rennet from a correctly slaughtered animal is permitted, and rennet from an animal that was not slaughtered is disputed. The pack rarely says which rennet was used. Doubtful unless it came from cheese made with microbial rennet, or the product has a halal logo. To confirm for this product, ask the maker for the source of the whey.
- flavourings (doubtful): The word "flavouring" does not say what a flavour is made from or dissolved in. Most are plant-based or synthetic, but some are carried in alcohol or glycerol of unstated source, and a few contain animal ingredients. Doubtful unless the pack says plant-based or alcohol-free, or shows a halal logo. To confirm for this product, ask the maker for the source of the flavourings.
Mr Kipling 6 Cherry Bakewells: pack details
| Pack size | 282 g (6 x 47 g) |
|---|---|
| Sold at | Iceland, Sainsbury's |
| Sold in | France, United Kingdom |
| Made or packed in | Premier Foods (Carlton, South Yorkshire) |
| Contains (allergens) | eggs, gluten, milk, nuts, sulphur dioxide and sulphites |
| Additives | E120, E163, E202, E220, E330, E331, E422, E435, E440, E450, E491, E500 |
| Nutri-Score | E |
| NOVA group | 4 (an ultra-processed food) |
From the Open Food Facts record for this barcode. NOVA is a food-processing scale from 1 to 4 based on the ingredient list, and Nutri-Score runs from A (better) to E. Neither says anything about halal status.
What we found about Mr Kipling and halal
Mr Kipling's official 'Ask Mr Kipling' page has a question on which of its products are suitable for a vegetarian diet. It has no question on halal, and we found no halal certificate for the range.
Sources: Mr Kipling: Ask Mr Kipling. More on Mr Kipling
Is Mr Kipling 6 Cherry Bakewells vegetarian or vegan?
No. Mr Kipling 6 Cherry Bakewells contains carmine (cochineal), so it is not vegetarian or vegan.
More on this type of food: Biscuits: what to check · all Mr Kipling products checked
Scan it in the shop
This barcode is in the offline list, so the product can be looked up with no signal.
Frequently asked questions
Does Mr Kipling 6 Cherry Bakewells contain pork?
No pork is listed in the ingredients. Recipes change, so check the pack you buy.
Does Mr Kipling 6 Cherry Bakewells contain gelatine?
No gelatine is listed. Recipes change, so check the pack you buy.
Does Mr Kipling 6 Cherry Bakewells contain alcohol?
No alcohol is listed. Flavourings can occasionally be carried in alcohol, which most scholars accept.
Is Mr Kipling 6 Cherry Bakewells halal-certified?
We found no halal label for Mr Kipling 6 Cherry Bakewells. See the ingredient check above for what needs attention.
More from Mr Kipling



Similar products




See or correct this product on Open Food Facts
Ingredient data from Open Food Facts (ODbL), retrieved 2026-10-15. Product photos by Open Food Facts contributors, licensed CC BY-SA 3.0. Recipes change — always check the pack. This is an ingredient check, not a halal certification.