Ingredients, colour-coded
What needs attention
- DoubtfulE334 · Tartaric acid
Tartaric acid is a plant acid, but much of it is recovered from winemaking by-products and the pack rarely says which source was used. Darul Ifta Birmingham says tartaric acid from a plant source is halal; scholars differ on the wine-derived form. Doubtful unless the source is stated or the product has a halal logo.
- DoubtfulE471 · Mono- and diglycerides of fatty acids
One of the most common doubtful additives. Halal if the pack says plant/vegetable origin or is halal-certified or vegan.
- DoubtfulEmulsifier (source not stated)
The word "emulsifier" does not say which one is used. Several emulsifiers, including E471, are made from glycerol and fatty acids that can come from plants or animal fat, and the pack rarely says which. Doubtful unless the pack names a plant source, or shows a vegetarian, vegan or halal label.
Full ingredient list
Wholemeal Wheat Flour, Water, Wheat Gluten, Rapeseed Oil, Fermented Wheat Flour, Wheat Flour, Salt, Emulsifiers:Mono - and Diglycerides of Fatty Acids, Mono - and Diacetyl Tartaric Acid Esters of Mono - and Diglycerides of Fatty Acids; Yeast, Palm Oil, Palm Fat, Flour Treatment Agent: Ascorbic Acid.
What to check on this pack
The first ingredient listed is wholemeal wheat flour and the list has 12 named ingredients. No halal or dietary label appears in the product data. 3 of the named ingredients need a closer look:
- E334 (Tartaric acid) (doubtful): Tartaric acid is a plant acid, but much of it is recovered from winemaking by-products and the pack rarely says which source was used. Darul Ifta Birmingham says tartaric acid from a plant source is halal; scholars differ on the wine-derived form. Doubtful unless the source is stated or the product has a halal logo. To confirm for this product, ask the maker for the source of the e334 (tartaric acid).
- E471 (Mono- and diglycerides of fatty acids) (doubtful): One of the most common doubtful additives. Halal if the pack says plant/vegetable origin or is halal-certified or vegan. To confirm for this product, ask the maker for the source of the e471 (mono- and diglycerides of fatty acids).
- emulsifier (source not stated) (doubtful): The word "emulsifier" does not say which one is used. Several emulsifiers, including E471, are made from glycerol and fatty acids that can come from plants or animal fat, and the pack rarely says which. Doubtful unless the pack names a plant source, or shows a vegetarian, vegan or halal label. To confirm for this product, ask the maker for the source of the emulsifier (source not stated).
Kingsmill Stamford street wholemeal rolls: pack details
| Pack size | 300g |
|---|---|
| Sold in | United Kingdom |
| Contains (allergens) | gluten |
| Additives | E300, E471, E472e |
| Nutri-Score | A |
| NOVA group | 4 (an ultra-processed food) |
From the Open Food Facts record for this barcode. NOVA is a food-processing scale from 1 to 4 based on the ingredient list, and Nutri-Score runs from A (better) to E. Neither says anything about halal status.
Is Kingsmill Stamford street wholemeal rolls vegetarian or vegan?
Kingsmill Stamford street wholemeal rolls is not labelled vegetarian or vegan. No meat or gelatine is listed; some additives can still be animal-derived.
More on this type of food: Bread & bakery: what to check · all Kingsmill products checked
Scan it in the shop
This barcode is in the offline list, so the product can be looked up with no signal.
Frequently asked questions
Does Kingsmill Stamford street wholemeal rolls contain pork?
No pork is listed in the ingredients. Recipes change, so check the pack you buy.
Does Kingsmill Stamford street wholemeal rolls contain gelatine?
No gelatine is listed. Recipes change, so check the pack you buy.
Does Kingsmill Stamford street wholemeal rolls contain alcohol?
No alcohol is listed. Flavourings can occasionally be carried in alcohol, which most scholars accept.
Is Kingsmill Stamford street wholemeal rolls halal-certified?
We found no halal label for Kingsmill Stamford street wholemeal rolls. See the ingredient check above for what needs attention.
More from Kingsmill




Similar products




See or correct this product on Open Food Facts
Ingredient data from Open Food Facts (ODbL), retrieved 2026-10-15. Product photos by Open Food Facts contributors, licensed CC BY-SA 3.0. Recipes change — always check the pack. This is an ingredient check, not a halal certification.