Kingsmill Wholemeal Bread – is it halal? Product photo

Kingsmill

Is Kingsmill Wholemeal Bread Halal?

Doubtful

Doubtful — check the source

No haram ingredients are listed, but emulsifier (source not stated), E472e (Mono- and diacetyl tartaric acid esters (DATEM)) and E471 (Mono- and diglycerides of fatty acids) are doubtful — the source is not stated on the label.

BrandKingsmill
Barcode5010092236442
CategoryBread & bakery
Record edited on Open Food Facts2026-03-27
Last re-read by us2026-11-06

Ingredients, colour-coded

Wholemeal Wheat FlourWaterKibbled Malted Wheat (4%) SugarWheat ProteinYeastSaltVegetable Oils (Rapeseed, Sustainable Palm) Malted Barley FlourVinegarEmulsifiers: E471E472eSoya FlourPreservative: Calcium PropionateFlour Treatment Agent: Ascorbic Acid (Vitamin C). With 63% Whole grain (Wholemeal Wheat Flour, Kibbled Malted Wheat, Malted Barley Flour) Allergy Advice: For allergensincluding cereals containing glutensee ingredients listed in bold
HaramDoubtfulFineNo concern found

What needs attention

Full ingredient list

Wholemeal Wheat Flour, Water, Kibbled Malted Wheat (4%) Sugar, Wheat Protein, Yeast, Salt, Vegetable Oils (Rapeseed, Sustainable Palm) Malted Barley Flour, Vinegar, Emulsifiers: E471, E472e; Soya Flour, Preservative: Calcium Propionate; Flour Treatment Agent: Ascorbic Acid (Vitamin C). With 63% Whole grain (Wholemeal Wheat Flour, Kibbled Malted Wheat, Malted Barley Flour) Allergy Advice: For allergens, including cereals containing gluten, see ingredients listed in bold.

What to check on this pack

The first ingredient listed is wholemeal wheat flour and the list has 13 named ingredients. No halal or dietary label appears in the product data. 3 of the named ingredients need a closer look:

  • emulsifier (source not stated) (doubtful): The word "emulsifier" does not say which one is used. Several emulsifiers, including E471, are made from glycerol and fatty acids that can come from plants or animal fat, and the pack rarely says which. Doubtful unless the pack names a plant source, or shows a vegetarian, vegan or halal label. To confirm for this product, ask the maker for the source of the emulsifier (source not stated).
  • E472e (Mono- and diacetyl tartaric acid esters (DATEM)) (doubtful): Same doubt as E471 — depends on the fat source. Very common in bread. To confirm for this product, ask the maker for the source of the e472e (mono- and diacetyl tartaric acid esters (datem)).
  • E471 (Mono- and diglycerides of fatty acids) (doubtful): One of the most common doubtful additives. Halal if the pack says plant/vegetable origin or is halal-certified or vegan. To confirm for this product, ask the maker for the source of the e471 (mono- and diglycerides of fatty acids).

Kingsmill Wholemeal Bread: pack details

Pack size400g
Sold inUnited Kingdom
Contains (allergens)gluten, soybeans
AdditivesE282, E300, E471, E472e
Nutri-ScoreA
NOVA group4 (an ultra-processed food)

From the Open Food Facts record for this barcode. NOVA is a food-processing scale from 1 to 4 based on the ingredient list, and Nutri-Score runs from A (better) to E. Neither says anything about halal status.

Is Kingsmill Wholemeal Bread vegetarian or vegan?

Kingsmill Wholemeal Bread is not labelled vegetarian or vegan. No meat or gelatine is listed; some additives can still be animal-derived.

More on this type of food: Bread & bakery: what to check · all Kingsmill products checked

Scan it in the shop

This barcode is in the offline list, so the product can be looked up with no signal.

Frequently asked questions

Does Kingsmill Wholemeal Bread contain pork?

No pork is listed in the ingredients. Recipes change, so check the pack you buy.

Does Kingsmill Wholemeal Bread contain gelatine?

No gelatine is listed. Recipes change, so check the pack you buy.

Does Kingsmill Wholemeal Bread contain alcohol?

No alcohol is listed. Flavourings can occasionally be carried in alcohol, which most scholars accept.

Is Kingsmill Wholemeal Bread halal-certified?

We found no halal label for Kingsmill Wholemeal Bread. See the ingredient check above for what needs attention.

More from Kingsmill

Similar products

See or correct this product on Open Food Facts

Ingredient data from Open Food Facts (ODbL), retrieved 2026-10-15. Product photos by Open Food Facts contributors, licensed CC BY-SA 3.0. Recipes change — always check the pack. This is an ingredient check, not a halal certification.