Ingredients, colour-coded
What needs attention
- DoubtfulFlavourings
The word "flavouring" does not say what a flavour is made from or dissolved in. Most are plant-based or synthetic, but some are carried in alcohol or glycerol of unstated source, and a few contain animal ingredients. Doubtful unless the pack says plant-based or alcohol-free, or shows a halal logo.
- DoubtfulEmulsifier (source not stated)
The word "emulsifier" does not say which one is used. Several emulsifiers, including E471, are made from glycerol and fatty acids that can come from plants or animal fat, and the pack rarely says which. Doubtful unless the pack names a plant source, or shows a vegetarian, vegan or halal label.
Full ingredient list
Gluten free oats (27%), Rice syrup, Soya protein crunchies (soya protein, tapioca starch, salt) (16%), Salted caramel flavour coating (vegetable oils (palm kernel oil, palm oil"), sugar, rice powder (dried rice syrup, 5 rice starch, rice flour), rice flour, cocoa powder, sea salt, natural flavouring, emulsifier, sunflower lecithin, colouring: paprika extract)) (13%), Vegetable oils (palm", sunflower, rapeseed), Dark brown sugar, Soya flour, Salt, Natural Flavourings.
What to check on this pack
The first ingredient listed is gluten free oat and the list has 11 named ingredients. The product data carries these labels: no gluten. 2 of the named ingredients need a closer look:
- flavourings (doubtful): The word "flavouring" does not say what a flavour is made from or dissolved in. Most are plant-based or synthetic, but some are carried in alcohol or glycerol of unstated source, and a few contain animal ingredients. Doubtful unless the pack says plant-based or alcohol-free, or shows a halal logo. To confirm for this product, ask the maker for the source of the flavourings.
- emulsifier (source not stated) (doubtful): The word "emulsifier" does not say which one is used. Several emulsifiers, including E471, are made from glycerol and fatty acids that can come from plants or animal fat, and the pack rarely says which. Doubtful unless the pack names a plant source, or shows a vegetarian, vegan or halal label. To confirm for this product, ask the maker for the source of the emulsifier (source not stated).
TREK Protein Flapjack Salted Caramel: pack details
| Pack size | 50g |
|---|---|
| Sold in | United Kingdom |
| Contains (allergens) | soybeans |
| Additives | E160c, E322 |
| NOVA group | 4 (an ultra-processed food) |
From the Open Food Facts record for this barcode. NOVA is a food-processing scale from 1 to 4 based on the ingredient list, and Nutri-Score runs from A (better) to E. Neither says anything about halal status.
What we found about TREK and halal
Trek makes protein bars and protein flapjacks in the UK. Its High Protein Biscoff multipack is listed on Ocado as suitable for vegans, with ingredients that include soya protein, a caramelised biscuit spread, and a vegan chocolate flavour coating. None of these ingredients is gelatine, and the listing makes no halal claim.
Sources: Ocado: Trek High Protein Biscoff Protein Bars Multipack. More on TREK
Is TREK Protein Flapjack Salted Caramel vegetarian or vegan?
TREK Protein Flapjack Salted Caramel is not labelled vegetarian or vegan. No meat or gelatine is listed; some additives can still be animal-derived.
More on this type of food: Vitamins & supplements: what to check · all TREK products checked
Scan it in the shop
This barcode is in the offline list, so the product can be looked up with no signal.
Frequently asked questions
Does TREK Protein Flapjack Salted Caramel contain pork?
No pork is listed in the ingredients. Recipes change, so check the pack you buy.
Does TREK Protein Flapjack Salted Caramel contain gelatine?
No gelatine is listed. Recipes change, so check the pack you buy.
Does TREK Protein Flapjack Salted Caramel contain alcohol?
No alcohol is listed. Flavourings can occasionally be carried in alcohol, which most scholars accept.
Is TREK Protein Flapjack Salted Caramel halal-certified?
We found no halal label for TREK Protein Flapjack Salted Caramel. See the ingredient check above for what needs attention.
More from TREK




Similar products




See or correct this product on Open Food Facts
Ingredient data from Open Food Facts (ODbL), retrieved 2026-10-15. Product photos by Open Food Facts contributors, licensed CC BY-SA 3.0. Recipes change — always check the pack. This is an ingredient check, not a halal certification.