Ingredients, colour-coded
What needs attention
- DoubtfulFlavourings
The word "flavouring" does not say what a flavour is made from or dissolved in. Most are plant-based or synthetic, but some are carried in alcohol or glycerol of unstated source, and a few contain animal ingredients. Doubtful unless the pack says plant-based or alcohol-free, or shows a halal logo.
- DoubtfulGlycerine
Halal when vegetable glycerine; doubtful if not stated.
- DoubtfulWhey
Whey comes from cheese making, so the rennet question applies: pig rennet is prohibited, rennet from a correctly slaughtered animal is permitted, and rennet from an animal that was not slaughtered is disputed. The pack rarely says which rennet was used. Doubtful unless it came from cheese made with microbial rennet, or the product has a halal logo.
Full ingredient list
roasted peanuts (38%), chicory root extract, isolated soy protein, almonds (9%), glucose syrup, palm fat, sugar, whey solids ( milk ), fructose, maltodextrin, sunflower oil, tapioca starch, humectant: glycerol, salt, caramel powder (0,84%) (sugar, skimmed milk powder), skimmed milk powder, emulsifiers: sunflower and soy lecithin, natural flavourings,
What to check on this pack
The first ingredient listed is roasted peanut and the list has 18 named ingredients. The product data carries these labels: no gluten. 3 of the named ingredients need a closer look:
- flavourings (doubtful): The word "flavouring" does not say what a flavour is made from or dissolved in. Most are plant-based or synthetic, but some are carried in alcohol or glycerol of unstated source, and a few contain animal ingredients. Doubtful unless the pack says plant-based or alcohol-free, or shows a halal logo. To confirm for this product, ask the maker for the source of the flavourings.
- glycerine (doubtful): Halal when vegetable glycerine; doubtful if not stated. To confirm for this product, ask the maker for the source of the glycerine.
- whey (doubtful): Whey comes from cheese making, so the rennet question applies: pig rennet is prohibited, rennet from a correctly slaughtered animal is permitted, and rennet from an animal that was not slaughtered is disputed. The pack rarely says which rennet was used. Doubtful unless it came from cheese made with microbial rennet, or the product has a halal logo. To confirm for this product, ask the maker for the source of the whey.
Nature Valley Protein Salted Caramel Nut: pack details
| Pack size | 160g |
|---|---|
| Sold at | Tesco |
| Sold in | France, United Kingdom |
| Contains (allergens) | milk, nuts, peanuts, soybeans |
| May contain | nuts, Sunflower |
| Additives | E322, E422 |
| NOVA group | 4 (an ultra-processed food) |
From the Open Food Facts record for this barcode. NOVA is a food-processing scale from 1 to 4 based on the ingredient list, and Nutri-Score runs from A (better) to E. Neither says anything about halal status.
Is Nature Valley Protein Salted Caramel Nut vegetarian or vegan?
Nature Valley Protein Salted Caramel Nut is not labelled vegetarian or vegan. No meat or gelatine is listed, but it contains milk or egg, so it is not vegan; some additives can still be animal-derived.
More on this type of food: Vitamins & supplements: what to check · all Nature Valley products checked
Scan it in the shop
This barcode is in the offline list, so the product can be looked up with no signal.
Frequently asked questions
Does Nature Valley Protein Salted Caramel Nut contain pork?
No pork is listed in the ingredients. Recipes change, so check the pack you buy.
Does Nature Valley Protein Salted Caramel Nut contain gelatine?
No gelatine is listed. Recipes change, so check the pack you buy.
Does Nature Valley Protein Salted Caramel Nut contain alcohol?
No alcohol is listed. Flavourings can occasionally be carried in alcohol, which most scholars accept.
Is Nature Valley Protein Salted Caramel Nut halal-certified?
We found no halal label for Nature Valley Protein Salted Caramel Nut. See the ingredient check above for what needs attention.
More from Nature Valley




Similar products




See or correct this product on Open Food Facts
Ingredient data from Open Food Facts (ODbL), retrieved 2026-10-15. Product photos by Open Food Facts contributors, licensed CC BY-SA 3.0. Recipes change — always check the pack. This is an ingredient check, not a halal certification.