Primo Madeleines – is it halal? Product photo

Primo

Is Primo Madeleines Halal?

Haram

Contains haram ingredients

Based on its ingredient list, Primo Madeleines contains alcohol, which is haram under the general view.

BrandPrimo
Barcode5941040700022
CategoryBiscuits
Record edited on Open Food Facts2026-08-09
Last re-read by us2026-10-15

Ingredients, colour-coded

white wheat flourcocoa cream 10% (sugar, unhydrogenated palm vegetable oil, water, glucose syrup, milk powder type 26%, starch, cocoa powder (4.5%), ethyl alcohol, preservative (potassium sorbate 0.1%) aroma, sugar, vegetable sunflower oil, water, margarine (vegetable oils (palm, sunflower / rapeseed) and partially hydrogenated vegetable oils (palm)), egg powder, dextrose, baking powder (sodium bicarbonate, sodium pyrophosphate, starch), whey salt powder (0.31%), preservative (potassium sorbate 0.1%), emulsifier (glycerin), flavor, contains gluten, lactose, egg powder,
HaramDoubtfulFineNo concern found

What needs attention

  • HaramAlcohol

    Added alcohol is avoided. Scholars differ on tiny carrier amounts, but added alcohol as an ingredient is generally treated as haram.

  • DoubtfulEmulsifier (source not stated)

    The word "emulsifier" does not say which one is used. Several emulsifiers, including E471, are made from glycerol and fatty acids that can come from plants or animal fat, and the pack rarely says which. Doubtful unless the pack names a plant source, or shows a vegetarian, vegan or halal label.

  • DoubtfulGlycerine

    Halal when vegetable glycerine; doubtful if not stated.

  • DoubtfulFlavourings

    The word "flavouring" does not say what a flavour is made from or dissolved in. Most are plant-based or synthetic, but some are carried in alcohol or glycerol of unstated source, and a few contain animal ingredients. Doubtful unless the pack says plant-based or alcohol-free, or shows a halal logo.

  • DoubtfulWhey

    Whey comes from cheese making, so the rennet question applies: pig rennet is prohibited, rennet from a correctly slaughtered animal is permitted, and rennet from an animal that was not slaughtered is disputed. The pack rarely says which rennet was used. Doubtful unless it came from cheese made with microbial rennet, or the product has a halal logo.

Full ingredient list

white wheat flour, cocoa cream 10% (sugar, unhydrogenated palm vegetable oil, water, glucose syrup, milk powder type 26%, starch, cocoa powder (4.5%), ethyl alcohol, preservative (potassium sorbate 0.1%) aroma, sugar, vegetable sunflower oil, water, margarine (vegetable oils (palm, sunflower / rapeseed) and partially hydrogenated vegetable oils (palm)), egg powder, dextrose, baking powder (sodium bicarbonate, sodium pyrophosphate, starch), whey salt powder (0.31%), preservative (potassium sorbate 0.1%), emulsifier (glycerin), flavor, contains gluten, lactose, egg powder,

What to check on this pack

The first ingredient listed is white wheat flour and the list has 24 named ingredients. No halal or dietary label appears in the product data. 5 of the named ingredients need a closer look:

  • alcohol (haram): Added alcohol is avoided. Scholars differ on tiny carrier amounts, but added alcohol as an ingredient is generally treated as haram. To confirm for this product, ask the maker for the source of the alcohol.
  • emulsifier (source not stated) (doubtful): The word "emulsifier" does not say which one is used. Several emulsifiers, including E471, are made from glycerol and fatty acids that can come from plants or animal fat, and the pack rarely says which. Doubtful unless the pack names a plant source, or shows a vegetarian, vegan or halal label. To confirm for this product, ask the maker for the source of the emulsifier (source not stated).
  • glycerine (doubtful): Halal when vegetable glycerine; doubtful if not stated. To confirm for this product, ask the maker for the source of the glycerine.
  • flavourings (doubtful): The word "flavouring" does not say what a flavour is made from or dissolved in. Most are plant-based or synthetic, but some are carried in alcohol or glycerol of unstated source, and a few contain animal ingredients. Doubtful unless the pack says plant-based or alcohol-free, or shows a halal logo. To confirm for this product, ask the maker for the source of the flavourings.
  • whey (doubtful): Whey comes from cheese making, so the rennet question applies: pig rennet is prohibited, rennet from a correctly slaughtered animal is permitted, and rennet from an animal that was not slaughtered is disputed. The pack rarely says which rennet was used. Doubtful unless it came from cheese made with microbial rennet, or the product has a halal logo. To confirm for this product, ask the maker for the source of the whey.

Primo Madeleines: pack details

Pack size250 g
Sold inRomania, United Kingdom
Contains (allergens)eggs, gluten, milk
AdditivesE422, E500
Nutri-ScoreD
NOVA group4 (an ultra-processed food)

From the Open Food Facts record for this barcode. NOVA is a food-processing scale from 1 to 4 based on the ingredient list, and Nutri-Score runs from A (better) to E. Neither says anything about halal status.

Is Primo Madeleines vegetarian or vegan?

Primo Madeleines is not labelled vegetarian or vegan. No meat or gelatine is listed, but it contains milk or egg, so it is not vegan; some additives can still be animal-derived.

More on this type of food: Biscuits: what to check

Scan it in the shop

This barcode is in the offline list, so the product can be looked up with no signal.

Frequently asked questions

Does Primo Madeleines contain pork?

No pork is listed in the ingredients. Recipes change, so check the pack you buy.

Does Primo Madeleines contain gelatine?

No gelatine is listed. Recipes change, so check the pack you buy.

Does Primo Madeleines contain alcohol?

The ingredients include alcohol. Most scholars accept trace alcohol used only to carry flavourings, but not alcohol added as an ingredient.

Is Primo Madeleines halal-certified?

We found no halal label for Primo Madeleines. See the ingredient check above for what needs attention.

Similar products

See or correct this product on Open Food Facts

Ingredient data from Open Food Facts (ODbL), retrieved 2026-10-15. Product photos by Open Food Facts contributors, licensed CC BY-SA 3.0. Recipes change — always check the pack. This is an ingredient check, not a halal certification.