Ingredients, colour-coded
What needs attention
- DoubtfulEmulsifier (source not stated)
The word "emulsifier" does not say which one is used. Several emulsifiers, including E471, are made from glycerol and fatty acids that can come from plants or animal fat, and the pack rarely says which. Doubtful unless the pack names a plant source, or shows a vegetarian, vegan or halal label.
- DoubtfulFlavourings
The word "flavouring" does not say what a flavour is made from or dissolved in. Most are plant-based or synthetic, but some are carried in alcohol or glycerol of unstated source, and a few contain animal ingredients. Doubtful unless the pack says plant-based or alcohol-free, or shows a halal logo.
- DoubtfulWhey
Whey comes from cheese making, so the rennet question applies: pig rennet is prohibited, rennet from a correctly slaughtered animal is permitted, and rennet from an animal that was not slaughtered is disputed. The pack rarely says which rennet was used. Doubtful unless it came from cheese made with microbial rennet, or the product has a halal logo.
- DoubtfulE471 · Mono- and diglycerides of fatty acids
One of the most common doubtful additives. Halal if the pack says plant/vegetable origin or is halal-certified or vegan.
- DoubtfulE476 · Polyglycerol polyricinoleate (PGPR)
The castor oil part is plant-based; the glycerol part can be animal-derived. Common in chocolate.
Full ingredient list
reconstituted skimmed milk, sugar, water, cocoa butter¹, cocoa mass¹, coconut fat, glucose-fructose syrup, glucose syrup, whole milk powder, whey solids (milk), butter oil (milk), emulsifiers [e471, lecithins (contains soy), e476], exhausted vanilla bean pieces, stabilisers (guar gum, locust bean gum, carrageenan), natural vanilla flavouring (with milk), flavouring, colour (carotenes), may contain almond, gluten free, rainforest alliance certified tm, ra,org, store at - 18°c, best before end: see side of pack,
What to check on this pack
The first ingredient listed is reconstituted skimmed milk and the list has 26 named ingredients. The product data carries these labels: no gluten. 5 of the named ingredients need a closer look:
- emulsifier (source not stated) (doubtful): The word "emulsifier" does not say which one is used. Several emulsifiers, including E471, are made from glycerol and fatty acids that can come from plants or animal fat, and the pack rarely says which. Doubtful unless the pack names a plant source, or shows a vegetarian, vegan or halal label. To confirm for this product, ask the maker for the source of the emulsifier (source not stated).
- flavourings (doubtful): The word "flavouring" does not say what a flavour is made from or dissolved in. Most are plant-based or synthetic, but some are carried in alcohol or glycerol of unstated source, and a few contain animal ingredients. Doubtful unless the pack says plant-based or alcohol-free, or shows a halal logo. To confirm for this product, ask the maker for the source of the flavourings.
- whey (doubtful): Whey comes from cheese making, so the rennet question applies: pig rennet is prohibited, rennet from a correctly slaughtered animal is permitted, and rennet from an animal that was not slaughtered is disputed. The pack rarely says which rennet was used. Doubtful unless it came from cheese made with microbial rennet, or the product has a halal logo. To confirm for this product, ask the maker for the source of the whey.
- E471 (Mono- and diglycerides of fatty acids) (doubtful): One of the most common doubtful additives. Halal if the pack says plant/vegetable origin or is halal-certified or vegan. To confirm for this product, ask the maker for the source of the e471 (mono- and diglycerides of fatty acids).
- E476 (Polyglycerol polyricinoleate (PGPR)) (doubtful): The castor oil part is plant-based; the glycerol part can be animal-derived. Common in chocolate. To confirm for this product, ask the maker for the source of the e476 (polyglycerol polyricinoleate (pgpr)).
Magnum: pack details
| Pack size | 225 g |
|---|---|
| Sold in | United Kingdom |
| Contains (allergens) | milk, soybeans |
| May contain | nuts |
| Additives | E160a, E322, E407, E410, E412, E471, E476 |
| Nutri-Score | E |
| NOVA group | 4 (an ultra-processed food) |
From the Open Food Facts record for this barcode. NOVA is a food-processing scale from 1 to 4 based on the ingredient list, and Nutri-Score runs from A (better) to E. Neither says anything about halal status.
Is Magnum vegetarian or vegan?
Magnum is not labelled vegetarian or vegan. No meat or gelatine is listed, but it contains milk or egg, so it is not vegan; some additives can still be animal-derived.
More on this type of food: Cakes & desserts: what to check · all Magnum products checked
Scan it in the shop
This barcode is in the offline list, so the product can be looked up with no signal.
Frequently asked questions
Does Magnum contain pork?
No pork is listed in the ingredients. Recipes change, so check the pack you buy.
Does Magnum contain gelatine?
No gelatine is listed. Recipes change, so check the pack you buy.
Does Magnum contain alcohol?
No alcohol is listed. Flavourings can occasionally be carried in alcohol, which most scholars accept.
Is Magnum halal-certified?
We found no halal label for Magnum. See the ingredient check above for what needs attention.
More from Magnum
Similar products




See or correct this product on Open Food Facts
Ingredient data from Open Food Facts (ODbL), retrieved 2026-10-15. Product photos by Open Food Facts contributors, licensed CC BY-SA 3.0. Recipes change — always check the pack. This is an ingredient check, not a halal certification.
