Ingredients, colour-coded
What needs attention
- DoubtfulEmulsifier (source not stated)
The word "emulsifier" does not say which one is used. Several emulsifiers, including E471, are made from glycerol and fatty acids that can come from plants or animal fat, and the pack rarely says which. Doubtful unless the pack names a plant source, or shows a vegetarian, vegan or halal label.
- DoubtfulE472e · Mono- and diacetyl tartaric acid esters (DATEM)
Same doubt as E471 — depends on the fat source. Very common in bread.
Full ingredient list
wheat flour (with added calcium, iron, niacin, thiamin), water, original granary blend (granary malted wheat flakes (11%), malted barley flour), yeast, wheat protein, salt, vinegar, soya flour, caramelised sugar, barley flour, emulsifier: e472e, barley fibre, flour treatment agent: ascorbic acid
What to check on this pack
The first ingredient listed is wheat flour and the list has 13 named ingredients. No halal or dietary label appears in the product data. 2 of the named ingredients need a closer look:
- emulsifier (source not stated) (doubtful): The word "emulsifier" does not say which one is used. Several emulsifiers, including E471, are made from glycerol and fatty acids that can come from plants or animal fat, and the pack rarely says which. Doubtful unless the pack names a plant source, or shows a vegetarian, vegan or halal label. To confirm for this product, ask the maker for the source of the emulsifier (source not stated).
- E472e (Mono- and diacetyl tartaric acid esters (DATEM)) (doubtful): Same doubt as E471 — depends on the fat source. Very common in bread. To confirm for this product, ask the maker for the source of the e472e (mono- and diacetyl tartaric acid esters (datem)).
Hovis Authentic Granary: pack details
| Pack size | 400 g |
|---|---|
| Sold in | United Kingdom, United States |
| Contains (allergens) | gluten, soybeans |
| Additives | E300, E472e |
| Nutri-Score | C |
| NOVA group | 4 (an ultra-processed food) |
From the Open Food Facts record for this barcode. NOVA is a food-processing scale from 1 to 4 based on the ingredient list, and Nutri-Score runs from A (better) to E. Neither says anything about halal status.
Is Hovis Authentic Granary vegetarian or vegan?
Hovis Authentic Granary is not labelled vegetarian or vegan. No meat or gelatine is listed; some additives can still be animal-derived.
More on this type of food: Bread & bakery: what to check · all Hovis products checked
Scan it in the shop
This barcode is in the offline list, so the product can be looked up with no signal.
Frequently asked questions
Does Hovis Authentic Granary contain pork?
No pork is listed in the ingredients. Recipes change, so check the pack you buy.
Does Hovis Authentic Granary contain gelatine?
No gelatine is listed. Recipes change, so check the pack you buy.
Does Hovis Authentic Granary contain alcohol?
No alcohol is listed. Flavourings can occasionally be carried in alcohol, which most scholars accept.
Is Hovis Authentic Granary halal-certified?
We found no halal label for Hovis Authentic Granary. See the ingredient check above for what needs attention.
More from Hovis




Similar products




See or correct this product on Open Food Facts
Ingredient data from Open Food Facts (ODbL), retrieved 2026-10-15. Product photos by Open Food Facts contributors, licensed CC BY-SA 3.0. Recipes change — always check the pack. This is an ingredient check, not a halal certification.