Ingredients, colour-coded
What needs attention
- DoubtfulE334 · Tartaric acid
Tartaric acid is a plant acid, but much of it is recovered from winemaking by-products and the pack rarely says which source was used. Darul Ifta Birmingham says tartaric acid from a plant source is halal; scholars differ on the wine-derived form. Doubtful unless the source is stated or the product has a halal logo.
- DoubtfulEmulsifier (source not stated)
The word "emulsifier" does not say which one is used. Several emulsifiers, including E471, are made from glycerol and fatty acids that can come from plants or animal fat, and the pack rarely says which. Doubtful unless the pack names a plant source, or shows a vegetarian, vegan or halal label.
- DoubtfulFlavourings
The word "flavouring" does not say what a flavour is made from or dissolved in. Most are plant-based or synthetic, but some are carried in alcohol or glycerol of unstated source, and a few contain animal ingredients. Doubtful unless the pack says plant-based or alcohol-free, or shows a halal logo.
Full ingredient list
Wheat Flour (Wheat Flour, Calcium carbonate, Iron, Niacin, Thiamin), Apple and Raspberry Jam (23%) (Glucose-fructose syrup, Apple Concentrate, Raspberry Concentrate, Gelling Agent (Pectins), Acidity Regulators (Citric acid, Trisodium citrate), Colour (Anthocyanins), Flavouring, Preservative (Potassium sorbate)), Water, Vegetable Oils (Palm, Rapeseed), Sugar, Emulsifiers (Mono - and diglycerides of fatty acids - Vegetable, Mono - and diacetyl tartaric acid esters of mono - and diglycerides of fatty acids - Vegetable), Yeast, Raising Agents (Calcium phosphates, Sodium carbonates, Potassium carbonate), Salt, Wheat Protein, Flour Treatment Agent (Ascorbic acid).
What to check on this pack
The first ingredient listed is wheat flour and the list has 18 named ingredients. No halal or dietary label appears in the product data. 3 of the named ingredients need a closer look:
- E334 (Tartaric acid) (doubtful): Tartaric acid is a plant acid, but much of it is recovered from winemaking by-products and the pack rarely says which source was used. Darul Ifta Birmingham says tartaric acid from a plant source is halal; scholars differ on the wine-derived form. Doubtful unless the source is stated or the product has a halal logo. To confirm for this product, ask the maker for the source of the e334 (tartaric acid).
- emulsifier (source not stated) (doubtful): The word "emulsifier" does not say which one is used. Several emulsifiers, including E471, are made from glycerol and fatty acids that can come from plants or animal fat, and the pack rarely says which. Doubtful unless the pack names a plant source, or shows a vegetarian, vegan or halal label. To confirm for this product, ask the maker for the source of the emulsifier (source not stated).
- flavourings (doubtful): The word "flavouring" does not say what a flavour is made from or dissolved in. Most are plant-based or synthetic, but some are carried in alcohol or glycerol of unstated source, and a few contain animal ingredients. Doubtful unless the pack says plant-based or alcohol-free, or shows a halal logo. To confirm for this product, ask the maker for the source of the flavourings.
Co-Op Bakery 4 Jam Ball Doughnuts: pack details
| Pack size | 4 doughnuts, 284g |
|---|---|
| Sold at | Co-op |
| Sold in | United Kingdom |
| Contains (allergens) | apple, gluten |
| May contain | Other allergens |
| Additives | E163, E202, E300, E330, E331, E341, E440, E471, E472e, E500, E501 |
| Nutri-Score | D |
| NOVA group | 4 (an ultra-processed food) |
From the Open Food Facts record for this barcode. NOVA is a food-processing scale from 1 to 4 based on the ingredient list, and Nutri-Score runs from A (better) to E. Neither says anything about halal status.
Is Co-Op Bakery 4 Jam Ball Doughnuts vegetarian or vegan?
Co-Op Bakery 4 Jam Ball Doughnuts is not labelled vegetarian or vegan. No meat or gelatine is listed; some additives can still be animal-derived.
More on this type of food: Biscuits: what to check · all Co-Op products checked
Scan it in the shop
This barcode is in the offline list, so the product can be looked up with no signal.
Frequently asked questions
Does Co-Op Bakery 4 Jam Ball Doughnuts contain pork?
No pork is listed in the ingredients. Recipes change, so check the pack you buy.
Does Co-Op Bakery 4 Jam Ball Doughnuts contain gelatine?
No gelatine is listed. Recipes change, so check the pack you buy.
Does Co-Op Bakery 4 Jam Ball Doughnuts contain alcohol?
No alcohol is listed. Flavourings can occasionally be carried in alcohol, which most scholars accept.
Is Co-Op Bakery 4 Jam Ball Doughnuts halal-certified?
We found no halal label for Co-Op Bakery 4 Jam Ball Doughnuts. See the ingredient check above for what needs attention.
More from Co-Op




Similar products




See or correct this product on Open Food Facts
Ingredient data from Open Food Facts (ODbL), retrieved 2026-10-15. Product photos by Open Food Facts contributors, licensed CC BY-SA 3.0. Recipes change — always check the pack. This is an ingredient check, not a halal certification.