Ingredients, colour-coded
What needs attention
- DoubtfulEmulsifier (source not stated)
The word "emulsifier" does not say which one is used. Several emulsifiers, including E471, are made from glycerol and fatty acids that can come from plants or animal fat, and the pack rarely says which. Doubtful unless the pack names a plant source, or shows a vegetarian, vegan or halal label.
- DoubtfulE472e · Mono- and diacetyl tartaric acid esters (DATEM)
Same doubt as E471 — depends on the fat source. Very common in bread.
- DoubtfulE471 · Mono- and diglycerides of fatty acids
One of the most common doubtful additives. Halal if the pack says plant/vegetable origin or is halal-certified or vegan.
- DoubtfulE481 · Sodium stearoyl-2-lactylate
Depends on the source of the stearic acid. Common in bread.
- DoubtfulE920 · L-cysteine
Halal if made by fermentation or from halal poultry feathers; the source is rarely stated. Found in some bread and bakery products.
Full ingredient list
wheat flour [with calcium, iron, niacin (b3) and thiamin (b1)], water, vegetable oil (rapeseed, sustainable palm), yeast, salt, sugar, emulsifiers: e472e, e471, e481, soya flour, gelling agent: e466, preservative: calcium propionate, flour treatment agents: ascorbic acid (vitamin c), e920 (vegetarian)
What to check on this pack
The first ingredient listed is wheat flour [with calcium and the list has 16 named ingredients. No halal or dietary label appears in the product data. 5 of the named ingredients need a closer look:
- emulsifier (source not stated) (doubtful): The word "emulsifier" does not say which one is used. Several emulsifiers, including E471, are made from glycerol and fatty acids that can come from plants or animal fat, and the pack rarely says which. Doubtful unless the pack names a plant source, or shows a vegetarian, vegan or halal label. To confirm for this product, ask the maker for the source of the emulsifier (source not stated).
- E472e (Mono- and diacetyl tartaric acid esters (DATEM)) (doubtful): Same doubt as E471 — depends on the fat source. Very common in bread. To confirm for this product, ask the maker for the source of the e472e (mono- and diacetyl tartaric acid esters (datem)).
- E471 (Mono- and diglycerides of fatty acids) (doubtful): One of the most common doubtful additives. Halal if the pack says plant/vegetable origin or is halal-certified or vegan. To confirm for this product, ask the maker for the source of the e471 (mono- and diglycerides of fatty acids).
- E481 (Sodium stearoyl-2-lactylate) (doubtful): Depends on the source of the stearic acid. Common in bread. To confirm for this product, ask the maker for the source of the e481 (sodium stearoyl-2-lactylate).
- E920 (L-cysteine) (doubtful): Halal if made by fermentation or from halal poultry feathers; the source is rarely stated. Found in some bread and bakery products. To confirm for this product, ask the maker for the source of the e920 (l-cysteine).
Warburtons White Rolls: pack details
| Pack size | 55g per roll |
|---|---|
| Sold in | United Kingdom, United States |
| Contains (allergens) | gluten, soybeans |
| Additives | E282, E300, E466, E471, E472e, E481, E920 |
| Nutri-Score | C |
| NOVA group | 4 (an ultra-processed food) |
From the Open Food Facts record for this barcode. NOVA is a food-processing scale from 1 to 4 based on the ingredient list, and Nutri-Score runs from A (better) to E. Neither says anything about halal status.
What we found about Warburtons and halal
Warburtons shows halal status on individual product pages. On the Medium Toastie (400g) page, which we read on 3 November 2026, the Suitable For section shows logos for halal certified, kosher certified, Vegetarian Society Approved and suitable for vegans. The page does not name the halal certifier in its text.
Sources: Warburtons: Medium Toastie (400g) product page. More on Warburtons
Is Warburtons White Rolls vegetarian or vegan?
Warburtons White Rolls is not labelled vegetarian or vegan. No meat or gelatine is listed; some additives can still be animal-derived.
More on this type of food: Bread & bakery: what to check · all Warburtons products checked
Scan it in the shop
This barcode is in the offline list, so the product can be looked up with no signal.
Frequently asked questions
Does Warburtons White Rolls contain pork?
No pork is listed in the ingredients. Recipes change, so check the pack you buy.
Does Warburtons White Rolls contain gelatine?
No gelatine is listed. Recipes change, so check the pack you buy.
Does Warburtons White Rolls contain alcohol?
No alcohol is listed. Flavourings can occasionally be carried in alcohol, which most scholars accept.
Is Warburtons White Rolls halal-certified?
We found no halal label for Warburtons White Rolls. See the ingredient check above for what needs attention.
More from Warburtons




Similar products




See or correct this product on Open Food Facts
Ingredient data from Open Food Facts (ODbL), retrieved 2026-10-15. Product photos by Open Food Facts contributors, licensed CC BY-SA 3.0. Recipes change — always check the pack. This is an ingredient check, not a halal certification.