Ingredients, colour-coded
What needs attention
- DoubtfulEmulsifier (source not stated)
The word "emulsifier" does not say which one is used. Several emulsifiers, including E471, are made from glycerol and fatty acids that can come from plants or animal fat, and the pack rarely says which. Doubtful unless the pack names a plant source, or shows a vegetarian, vegan or halal label.
- DoubtfulE471 · Mono- and diglycerides of fatty acids
One of the most common doubtful additives. Halal if the pack says plant/vegetable origin or is halal-certified or vegan.
Full ingredient list
cakes instructions ry place ideally not rated... storage life will be reduced 5 de a see film 260g 90g customer car freephone 063684 your statutory vi wad ad stre on bl1 8jb intake wheat flour [with calcium, iron, niacin (b3) and thiamin (b1)], water, dehydrated 3400kj salt, emulsifier: e471
What to check on this pack
The first ingredient listed is cakes instructions ry place ideally not rated... storage life will be reduced 5 de a see film 260g 90g customer car freephone 063684 your statutory vi wad ad stre on bl1 8jb intake wheat flour [with calcium and the list has 6 named ingredients. The product data carries these labels: vegetarian. 2 of the named ingredients need a closer look:
- emulsifier (source not stated) (doubtful): The word "emulsifier" does not say which one is used. Several emulsifiers, including E471, are made from glycerol and fatty acids that can come from plants or animal fat, and the pack rarely says which. Doubtful unless the pack names a plant source, or shows a vegetarian, vegan or halal label. To confirm for this product, ask the maker for the source of the emulsifier (source not stated).
- E471 (Mono- and diglycerides of fatty acids) (doubtful): One of the most common doubtful additives. Halal if the pack says plant/vegetable origin or is halal-certified or vegan. To confirm for this product, ask the maker for the source of the e471 (mono- and diglycerides of fatty acids).
Warburtons Potato Cakes: pack details
| Pack size | 6 |
|---|---|
| Sold in | United Kingdom |
| Additives | E471 |
| Nutri-Score | E |
| NOVA group | 4 (an ultra-processed food) |
From the Open Food Facts record for this barcode. NOVA is a food-processing scale from 1 to 4 based on the ingredient list, and Nutri-Score runs from A (better) to E. Neither says anything about halal status.
What we found about Warburtons and halal
Warburtons shows halal status on individual product pages. On the Medium Toastie (400g) page, which we read on 3 November 2026, the Suitable For section shows logos for halal certified, kosher certified, Vegetarian Society Approved and suitable for vegans. The page does not name the halal certifier in its text.
Sources: Warburtons: Medium Toastie (400g) product page. More on Warburtons
Is Warburtons Potato Cakes vegetarian or vegan?
Warburtons Potato Cakes is labelled vegetarian.
More on this type of food: Biscuits: what to check · all Warburtons products checked
Scan it in the shop
This barcode is in the offline list, so the product can be looked up with no signal.
Frequently asked questions
Does Warburtons Potato Cakes contain pork?
No pork is listed in the ingredients. Recipes change, so check the pack you buy.
Does Warburtons Potato Cakes contain gelatine?
No gelatine is listed. Recipes change, so check the pack you buy.
Does Warburtons Potato Cakes contain alcohol?
No alcohol is listed. Flavourings can occasionally be carried in alcohol, which most scholars accept.
Is Warburtons Potato Cakes halal-certified?
We found no halal label for Warburtons Potato Cakes. See the ingredient check above for what needs attention.
More from Warburtons




Similar products




See or correct this product on Open Food Facts
Ingredient data from Open Food Facts (ODbL), retrieved 2026-10-15. Product photos by Open Food Facts contributors, licensed CC BY-SA 3.0. Recipes change — always check the pack. This is an ingredient check, not a halal certification.