Walkers oven baked cheese & onion flavour potato snack – is it halal? Product photo

Walkers

Is Walkers oven baked cheese & onion flavour potato snack Halal?

Doubtful

Doubtful — check the source

No haram ingredients are listed, but whey, emulsifier (source not stated), flavourings and cheese are doubtful — the source is not stated on the label.

BrandWalkers
Barcode5000328015897
CategoryCrisps & snacks
Record edited on Open Food Facts2026-08-21
Last re-read by us2026-10-15

Ingredients, colour-coded

Potato FlakesStarchRapeseed OilCheese & Onion Seasoning (Whey Permeate from Milk)SaltSugarFlavouring (contains Milk)Onion PowderAcids (Citric Acid, Malic Acid)Whey Protein (from Milk)Garlic PowderDried Cheese (0.1% from Milk)Whey Powder (from Milk)Colours (Paprika Extract, Annatto Bixin, Skimmed Milk Powder)SugarEmulsifier (Lecithins)Sunflower OilColour (Annatto Norbixin)
HaramDoubtfulFineNo concern found

What needs attention

  • DoubtfulWhey

    Whey comes from cheese making, so the rennet question applies: pig rennet is prohibited, rennet from a correctly slaughtered animal is permitted, and rennet from an animal that was not slaughtered is disputed. The pack rarely says which rennet was used. Doubtful unless it came from cheese made with microbial rennet, or the product has a halal logo.

  • DoubtfulEmulsifier (source not stated)

    The word "emulsifier" does not say which one is used. Several emulsifiers, including E471, are made from glycerol and fatty acids that can come from plants or animal fat, and the pack rarely says which. Doubtful unless the pack names a plant source, or shows a vegetarian, vegan or halal label.

  • DoubtfulFlavourings

    The word "flavouring" does not say what a flavour is made from or dissolved in. Most are plant-based or synthetic, but some are carried in alcohol or glycerol of unstated source, and a few contain animal ingredients. Doubtful unless the pack says plant-based or alcohol-free, or shows a halal logo.

  • DoubtfulCheese

    Depends on the rennet. Many UK supermarket cheddars use microbial rennet and are labelled vegetarian; Parmesan and Grana Padano always use animal rennet.

Full ingredient list

Potato Flakes, Starch, Rapeseed Oil, Cheese & Onion Seasoning (Whey Permeate from Milk), Salt, Sugar, Flavouring (contains Milk), Onion Powder, Acids (Citric Acid, Malic Acid), Whey Protein (from Milk), Garlic Powder, Dried Cheese (0.1% from Milk), Whey Powder (from Milk), Colours (Paprika Extract, Annatto Bixin, Skimmed Milk Powder), Sugar, Emulsifier (Lecithins), Sunflower Oil, Colour (Annatto Norbixin)

What to check on this pack

The first ingredient listed is potato flake and the list has 18 named ingredients. No halal or dietary label appears in the product data. 4 of the named ingredients need a closer look:

  • whey (doubtful): Whey comes from cheese making, so the rennet question applies: pig rennet is prohibited, rennet from a correctly slaughtered animal is permitted, and rennet from an animal that was not slaughtered is disputed. The pack rarely says which rennet was used. Doubtful unless it came from cheese made with microbial rennet, or the product has a halal logo. To confirm for this product, ask the maker for the source of the whey.
  • emulsifier (source not stated) (doubtful): The word "emulsifier" does not say which one is used. Several emulsifiers, including E471, are made from glycerol and fatty acids that can come from plants or animal fat, and the pack rarely says which. Doubtful unless the pack names a plant source, or shows a vegetarian, vegan or halal label. To confirm for this product, ask the maker for the source of the emulsifier (source not stated).
  • flavourings (doubtful): The word "flavouring" does not say what a flavour is made from or dissolved in. Most are plant-based or synthetic, but some are carried in alcohol or glycerol of unstated source, and a few contain animal ingredients. Doubtful unless the pack says plant-based or alcohol-free, or shows a halal logo. To confirm for this product, ask the maker for the source of the flavourings.
  • cheese (doubtful): Depends on the rennet. Many UK supermarket cheddars use microbial rennet and are labelled vegetarian; Parmesan and Grana Padano always use animal rennet. To confirm for this product, ask the maker for the source of the cheese.

Walkers oven baked cheese & onion flavour potato snack: pack details

Pack size22g
Sold inUnited Kingdom
Contains (allergens)milk
May containcelery, gluten, soybeans
AdditivesE160b, E160c, E296, E322, E330
Nutri-ScoreC
NOVA group4 (an ultra-processed food)

From the Open Food Facts record for this barcode. NOVA is a food-processing scale from 1 to 4 based on the ingredient list, and Nutri-Score runs from A (better) to E. Neither says anything about halal status.

Is Walkers oven baked cheese & onion flavour potato snack vegetarian or vegan?

Walkers oven baked cheese & onion flavour potato snack is not labelled vegetarian or vegan. No meat or gelatine is listed, but it contains milk or egg, so it is not vegan; the cheese may be made with animal rennet, and some additives can still be animal-derived.

More on this type of food: Crisps & snacks: what to check · all Walkers products checked

Scan it in the shop

This barcode is in the offline list, so the product can be looked up with no signal.

Frequently asked questions

Does Walkers oven baked cheese & onion flavour potato snack contain pork?

No pork is listed in the ingredients. Recipes change, so check the pack you buy.

Does Walkers oven baked cheese & onion flavour potato snack contain gelatine?

No gelatine is listed. Recipes change, so check the pack you buy.

Does Walkers oven baked cheese & onion flavour potato snack contain alcohol?

No alcohol is listed. Flavourings can occasionally be carried in alcohol, which most scholars accept.

Is Walkers oven baked cheese & onion flavour potato snack halal-certified?

We found no halal label for Walkers oven baked cheese & onion flavour potato snack. See the ingredient check above for what needs attention.

More from Walkers

Similar products

See or correct this product on Open Food Facts

Ingredient data from Open Food Facts (ODbL), retrieved 2026-10-15. Product photos by Open Food Facts contributors, licensed CC BY-SA 3.0. Recipes change — always check the pack. This is an ingredient check, not a halal certification.