M&S Food Wholemeal With Rye – is it halal? Product photo

M&S Food

Is M&S Food Wholemeal With Rye Halal?

Doubtful

Doubtful — check the source

No haram ingredients are listed, but emulsifier (source not stated) and E471 (Mono- and diglycerides of fatty acids) are doubtful — the source is not stated on the label.

BrandM&S Food
Barcode00828079
CategoryBread & bakery
Record edited on Open Food Facts2026-09-28
Last re-read by us2026-10-15

Ingredients, colour-coded

Wholemeal wheat flourwatermalted wheatyeastvitamin D yeastrye (3%)wheat glutenmalted barley flourfermented wheat floursaltpalm oilsugarsoya flourwheat flourrapeseed oilemulsifier: E471caramelised sugarflour treatment agent: ascorbic acidpalm fatfortified with calciumironvitamin B3 and B1
HaramDoubtfulFineNo concern found

What needs attention

  • DoubtfulEmulsifier (source not stated)

    The word "emulsifier" does not say which one is used. Several emulsifiers, including E471, are made from glycerol and fatty acids that can come from plants or animal fat, and the pack rarely says which. Doubtful unless the pack names a plant source, or shows a vegetarian, vegan or halal label.

  • DoubtfulE471 · Mono- and diglycerides of fatty acids

    One of the most common doubtful additives. Halal if the pack says plant/vegetable origin or is halal-certified or vegan.

Full ingredient list

Wholemeal wheat flour, water, malted wheat, yeast, vitamin D yeast, rye (3%), wheat gluten, malted barley flour, fermented wheat flour, salt, palm oil, sugar, soya flour, wheat flour, rapeseed oil, emulsifier: E471, caramelised sugar, flour treatment agent: ascorbic acid, palm fat, fortified with calcium, iron, vitamin B3 and B1

What to check on this pack

The first ingredient listed is wholemeal wheat flour and the list has 22 named ingredients. No halal or dietary label appears in the product data. 2 of the named ingredients need a closer look:

  • emulsifier (source not stated) (doubtful): The word "emulsifier" does not say which one is used. Several emulsifiers, including E471, are made from glycerol and fatty acids that can come from plants or animal fat, and the pack rarely says which. Doubtful unless the pack names a plant source, or shows a vegetarian, vegan or halal label. To confirm for this product, ask the maker for the source of the emulsifier (source not stated).
  • E471 (Mono- and diglycerides of fatty acids) (doubtful): One of the most common doubtful additives. Halal if the pack says plant/vegetable origin or is halal-certified or vegan. To confirm for this product, ask the maker for the source of the e471 (mono- and diglycerides of fatty acids).

M&S Food Wholemeal With Rye: pack details

Pack size400g
Sold atMarks & Spencer, Ocado
Sold inFrance, United Kingdom
Made or packed inUk
Contains (allergens)gluten, soybeans
May containmilk
AdditivesE300, E471
Nutri-ScoreB
NOVA group4 (an ultra-processed food)

From the Open Food Facts record for this barcode. NOVA is a food-processing scale from 1 to 4 based on the ingredient list, and Nutri-Score runs from A (better) to E. Neither says anything about halal status.

Is M&S Food Wholemeal With Rye vegetarian or vegan?

M&S Food Wholemeal With Rye is not labelled vegetarian or vegan. No meat or gelatine is listed; some additives can still be animal-derived.

More on this type of food: Bread & bakery: what to check · all M&S Food products checked

Scan it in the shop

This barcode is in the offline list, so the product can be looked up with no signal.

Frequently asked questions

Does M&S Food Wholemeal With Rye contain pork?

No pork is listed in the ingredients. Recipes change, so check the pack you buy.

Does M&S Food Wholemeal With Rye contain gelatine?

No gelatine is listed. Recipes change, so check the pack you buy.

Does M&S Food Wholemeal With Rye contain alcohol?

No alcohol is listed. Flavourings can occasionally be carried in alcohol, which most scholars accept.

Is M&S Food Wholemeal With Rye halal-certified?

We found no halal label for M&S Food Wholemeal With Rye. See the ingredient check above for what needs attention.

More from M&S Food

Similar products

See or correct this product on Open Food Facts

Ingredient data from Open Food Facts (ODbL), retrieved 2026-10-15. Product photos by Open Food Facts contributors, licensed CC BY-SA 3.0. Recipes change — always check the pack. This is an ingredient check, not a halal certification.