Ingredients, colour-coded
What needs attention
- HaramWine
Wine is haram, including when used for cooking.
- DoubtfulE471 · Mono- and diglycerides of fatty acids
One of the most common doubtful additives. Halal if the pack says plant/vegetable origin or is halal-certified or vegan.
- DoubtfulEmulsifier (source not stated)
The word "emulsifier" does not say which one is used. Several emulsifiers, including E471, are made from glycerol and fatty acids that can come from plants or animal fat, and the pack rarely says which. Doubtful unless the pack names a plant source, or shows a vegetarian, vegan or halal label.
Full ingredient list
water, fortified wheat flour (wheat flour, calcium carbonate, iron, niacin, thiamin), rehydrated textured soya protein (11%), onion (10%), palm oil, rapeseed oil, cornflour, salt, red wine, yeast extract, tomato purée, malted barley extract, garlic purée, wheat flour, potato flake, maltodextrin, thyme, sugar, sunflower oil, emulsifier: mono - and diglycerides of fatty acids
What to check on this pack
The first ingredient listed is water and the list has 20 named ingredients. No halal or dietary label appears in the product data. 3 of the named ingredients need a closer look:
- wine (haram): Wine is haram, including when used for cooking. To confirm for this product, ask the maker for the source of the wine.
- E471 (Mono- and diglycerides of fatty acids) (doubtful): One of the most common doubtful additives. Halal if the pack says plant/vegetable origin or is halal-certified or vegan. To confirm for this product, ask the maker for the source of the e471 (mono- and diglycerides of fatty acids).
- emulsifier (source not stated) (doubtful): The word "emulsifier" does not say which one is used. Several emulsifiers, including E471, are made from glycerol and fatty acids that can come from plants or animal fat, and the pack rarely says which. Doubtful unless the pack names a plant source, or shows a vegetarian, vegan or halal label. To confirm for this product, ask the maker for the source of the emulsifier (source not stated).
Linda McCartney Deep Country Pies 2pk: pack details
| Sold at | Woolworths |
|---|---|
| Sold in | Australia, United Kingdom |
| Contains (allergens) | gluten, soybeans |
| Additives | E471 |
| Nutri-Score | C |
| NOVA group | 4 (an ultra-processed food) |
From the Open Food Facts record for this barcode. NOVA is a food-processing scale from 1 to 4 based on the ingredient list, and Nutri-Score runs from A (better) to E. Neither says anything about halal status.
What we found about Linda McCartney and halal
Linda McCartney Foods is a British vegetarian and vegan brand founded in 1991 and owned by Hain Celestial since 2006. Its products contain no meat, so the usual halal question about slaughter does not arise. We found no halal certificate for the range.
Sources: Wikipedia: Linda McCartney Foods; Morrisons: Linda McCartney's vegetarian burgers and sausages. More on Linda McCartney
Is Linda McCartney Deep Country Pies 2pk vegetarian or vegan?
Linda McCartney Deep Country Pies 2pk is not labelled vegetarian or vegan. No meat or gelatine is listed; some additives can still be animal-derived.
More on this type of food: Ready meals: what to check · all Linda McCartney products checked
Scan it in the shop
This barcode is in the offline list, so the product can be looked up with no signal.
Frequently asked questions
Does Linda McCartney Deep Country Pies 2pk contain pork?
No pork is listed in the ingredients. Recipes change, so check the pack you buy.
Does Linda McCartney Deep Country Pies 2pk contain gelatine?
No gelatine is listed. Recipes change, so check the pack you buy.
Does Linda McCartney Deep Country Pies 2pk contain alcohol?
The ingredients include wine. Most scholars accept trace alcohol used only to carry flavourings, but not alcohol added as an ingredient.
Is Linda McCartney Deep Country Pies 2pk halal-certified?
We found no halal label for Linda McCartney Deep Country Pies 2pk. See the ingredient check above for what needs attention.
More from Linda McCartney



Similar products




See or correct this product on Open Food Facts
Ingredient data from Open Food Facts (ODbL), retrieved 2026-10-15. Product photos by Open Food Facts contributors, licensed CC BY-SA 3.0. Recipes change — always check the pack. This is an ingredient check, not a halal certification.