Cadbury Mini Rolls Milk Chocolate – is it halal? Product photo

Cadbury

Is Cadbury Mini Rolls Milk Chocolate Halal?

Doubtful🥕 Vegetarian

Doubtful — check the source

No haram ingredients are listed, but flavourings, glycerine, whey and E471 (Mono- and diglycerides of fatty acids) are doubtful — the source is not stated on the label.

BrandCadbury
Barcode5000221602606
CategoryBiscuits
Record edited on Open Food Facts2026-09-24
Last re-read by us2026-10-15

Ingredients, colour-coded

Milk chocolate 34% (Sugar, Cocoa mass, Cocoa butter, Dried skimmed milk, Milk fat, Vegetable fat (Palm), Dried whey (from milk), Emulsifier (Soya lecithin))Vanilla flavour filling 28% (Vegetable oils (Palm, Rapeseed), Glucose syrup, Dextrose, Sugar, Water, Emulsifier (E471), Flavouring)SugarWheat flour (with added Calcium, Iron, Niacin, Thiamin)WaterGlucose syrupHumectant (Glycerol)Dried whole eggFat reduced cocoaVegetable oils (Palm, Rapeseed)Dried whey (from milk)Soya flourRaising agents (E450, Sodium bicarbonate)Dried egg whiteEmulsifier (E471)Salt
HaramDoubtfulFineNo concern found

What needs attention

  • DoubtfulFlavourings

    The word "flavouring" does not say what a flavour is made from or dissolved in. Most are plant-based or synthetic, but some are carried in alcohol or glycerol of unstated source, and a few contain animal ingredients. Doubtful unless the pack says plant-based or alcohol-free, or shows a halal logo.

  • DoubtfulGlycerine

    Halal when vegetable glycerine; doubtful if not stated.

  • DoubtfulWhey

    Whey comes from cheese making, so the rennet question applies: pig rennet is prohibited, rennet from a correctly slaughtered animal is permitted, and rennet from an animal that was not slaughtered is disputed. The pack rarely says which rennet was used. Doubtful unless it came from cheese made with microbial rennet, or the product has a halal logo.

  • DoubtfulE471 · Mono- and diglycerides of fatty acids

    One of the most common doubtful additives. Halal if the pack says plant/vegetable origin or is halal-certified or vegan.

Full ingredient list

Milk chocolate 34% (Sugar, Cocoa mass, Cocoa butter, Dried skimmed milk, Milk fat, Vegetable fat (Palm), Dried whey (from milk), Emulsifier (Soya lecithin)), Vanilla flavour filling 28% (Vegetable oils (Palm, Rapeseed), Glucose syrup, Dextrose, Sugar, Water, Emulsifier (E471), Flavouring), Sugar, Wheat flour (with added Calcium, Iron, Niacin, Thiamin), Water, Glucose syrup, Humectant (Glycerol), Dried whole egg, Fat reduced cocoa, Vegetable oils (Palm, Rapeseed), Dried whey (from milk), Soya flour, Raising agents (E450, Sodium bicarbonate), Dried egg white, Emulsifier (E471), Salt.

What to check on this pack

The first ingredient listed is milk chocolate 34% (sugar and the list has 28 named ingredients. The product data carries these labels: vegetarian. 4 of the named ingredients need a closer look:

  • flavourings (doubtful): The word "flavouring" does not say what a flavour is made from or dissolved in. Most are plant-based or synthetic, but some are carried in alcohol or glycerol of unstated source, and a few contain animal ingredients. Doubtful unless the pack says plant-based or alcohol-free, or shows a halal logo. To confirm for this product, ask the maker for the source of the flavourings.
  • glycerine (doubtful): Halal when vegetable glycerine; doubtful if not stated. To confirm for this product, ask the maker for the source of the glycerine.
  • whey (doubtful): Whey comes from cheese making, so the rennet question applies: pig rennet is prohibited, rennet from a correctly slaughtered animal is permitted, and rennet from an animal that was not slaughtered is disputed. The pack rarely says which rennet was used. Doubtful unless it came from cheese made with microbial rennet, or the product has a halal logo. To confirm for this product, ask the maker for the source of the whey.
  • E471 (Mono- and diglycerides of fatty acids) (doubtful): One of the most common doubtful additives. Halal if the pack says plant/vegetable origin or is halal-certified or vegan. To confirm for this product, ask the maker for the source of the e471 (mono- and diglycerides of fatty acids).

Cadbury Mini Rolls Milk Chocolate: pack details

Pack size260 g
Sold atSainsbury's, Tesco
Sold inFrance, United Kingdom
Made or packed inUnited Kingdom
Contains (allergens)eggs, gluten, milk, soybeans
May containnuts
AdditivesE322, E422, E450, E471, E500
Nutri-ScoreE
NOVA group4 (an ultra-processed food)

From the Open Food Facts record for this barcode. NOVA is a food-processing scale from 1 to 4 based on the ingredient list, and Nutri-Score runs from A (better) to E. Neither says anything about halal status.

What we found about Cadbury and halal

Cadbury's UK FAQ page, which we read on 3 November 2026, says most Cadbury chocolate is suitable for vegetarians and tells shoppers to check for a vegetarian symbol on the pack. It does not mention halal, gelatine or alcohol, and it gives no halal certification.

Sources: Cadbury UK: FAQs; Mondelēz International: Halal position. More on Cadbury

Is Cadbury Mini Rolls Milk Chocolate vegetarian or vegan?

Cadbury Mini Rolls Milk Chocolate is labelled vegetarian, but contains milk or egg, so it is not vegan.

More on this type of food: Biscuits: what to check · all Cadbury products checked

Scan it in the shop

This barcode is in the offline list, so the product can be looked up with no signal.

Frequently asked questions

Does Cadbury Mini Rolls Milk Chocolate contain pork?

No pork is listed in the ingredients. Recipes change, so check the pack you buy.

Does Cadbury Mini Rolls Milk Chocolate contain gelatine?

No gelatine is listed. Recipes change, so check the pack you buy.

Does Cadbury Mini Rolls Milk Chocolate contain alcohol?

No alcohol is listed. Flavourings can occasionally be carried in alcohol, which most scholars accept.

Is Cadbury Mini Rolls Milk Chocolate halal-certified?

We found no halal label for Cadbury Mini Rolls Milk Chocolate. See the ingredient check above for what needs attention.

More from Cadbury

Similar products

See or correct this product on Open Food Facts

Ingredient data from Open Food Facts (ODbL), retrieved 2026-10-15. Product photos by Open Food Facts contributors, licensed CC BY-SA 3.0. Recipes change — always check the pack. This is an ingredient check, not a halal certification.