Cadbury Dairymilk buttons – is it halal? Product photo

Cadbury

Is Cadbury Dairymilk buttons Halal?

Doubtful🥕 Vegetarian

Doubtful — check the source

No haram ingredients are listed, but flavourings and emulsifier (source not stated) are doubtful — the source is not stated on the label.

BrandCadbury
Barcode7622210286956
CategoryChocolate
Record edited on Open Food Facts2026-03-27
Last re-read by us2026-11-06

Ingredients, colour-coded

milk**sugarcocoa buttercocoa massvegetable fats (palm, shea)emulsifier (e442)flavourings**the equivalent of 426 ml of fresh liquid milk in every 227 g of milk chocolatemilk solids 20 % minimumactual 23 %cocoa solids 20 % minimumcontains vegetable fats in addition to cocoa butterwe are passionate about our great quality cadbury productsnot completely satisfied? please contact us: freephone 0800 818181 (uk only)mondelez ukpo box 7008birminghamb30 2ptmondelez irelandfreephone 1-800 678708malahide roadcoolockdublin 5wwwcadburycouk g best before: 23042025 esto air
HaramDoubtfulFineNo concern found

What needs attention

  • DoubtfulFlavourings

    The word "flavouring" does not say what a flavour is made from or dissolved in. Most are plant-based or synthetic, but some are carried in alcohol or glycerol of unstated source, and a few contain animal ingredients. Doubtful unless the pack says plant-based or alcohol-free, or shows a halal logo.

  • DoubtfulEmulsifier (source not stated)

    The word "emulsifier" does not say which one is used. Several emulsifiers, including E471, are made from glycerol and fatty acids that can come from plants or animal fat, and the pack rarely says which. Doubtful unless the pack names a plant source, or shows a vegetarian, vegan or halal label.

Full ingredient list

milk**, sugar, cocoa butter, cocoa mass, vegetable fats (palm, shea), emulsifier (e442), flavourings, **the equivalent of 426 ml of fresh liquid milk in every 227 g of milk chocolate, milk solids 20 % minimum, actual 23 %, cocoa solids 20 % minimum, contains vegetable fats in addition to cocoa butter, we are passionate about our great quality cadbury products, not completely satisfied? please contact us: freephone 0800 818181 (uk only), mondelez uk, po box 7008, birmingham, b30 2pt, mondelez ireland, freephone 1-800 678708, malahide road, coolock, dublin 5, www,cadbury,co,uk g best before: 23,04,2025 esto air

What to check on this pack

The first ingredient listed is milk** and the list has 29 named ingredients. The product data carries these labels: vegetarian. 2 of the named ingredients need a closer look:

  • flavourings (doubtful): The word "flavouring" does not say what a flavour is made from or dissolved in. Most are plant-based or synthetic, but some are carried in alcohol or glycerol of unstated source, and a few contain animal ingredients. Doubtful unless the pack says plant-based or alcohol-free, or shows a halal logo. To confirm for this product, ask the maker for the source of the flavourings.
  • emulsifier (source not stated) (doubtful): The word "emulsifier" does not say which one is used. Several emulsifiers, including E471, are made from glycerol and fatty acids that can come from plants or animal fat, and the pack rarely says which. Doubtful unless the pack names a plant source, or shows a vegetarian, vegan or halal label. To confirm for this product, ask the maker for the source of the emulsifier (source not stated).

Cadbury Dairymilk buttons: pack details

Pack size119 g
Sold atAsda, Morrisons, Tesco
Sold inSwitzerland, United Kingdom, United States
Contains (allergens)milk
AdditivesE442
Nutri-ScoreE
NOVA group4 (an ultra-processed food)

From the Open Food Facts record for this barcode. NOVA is a food-processing scale from 1 to 4 based on the ingredient list, and Nutri-Score runs from A (better) to E. Neither says anything about halal status.

What we found about Cadbury and halal

Cadbury's UK FAQ page, which we read on 3 November 2026, says most Cadbury chocolate is suitable for vegetarians and tells shoppers to check for a vegetarian symbol on the pack. It does not mention halal, gelatine or alcohol, and it gives no halal certification.

Sources: Cadbury UK: FAQs; Mondelēz International: Halal position. More on Cadbury

Is Cadbury Dairymilk buttons vegetarian or vegan?

Cadbury Dairymilk buttons is labelled vegetarian, but contains milk or egg, so it is not vegan.

More on this type of food: Chocolate: what to check · all Cadbury products checked

Scan it in the shop

This barcode is in the offline list, so the product can be looked up with no signal.

Frequently asked questions

Does Cadbury Dairymilk buttons contain pork?

No pork is listed in the ingredients. Recipes change, so check the pack you buy.

Does Cadbury Dairymilk buttons contain gelatine?

No gelatine is listed. Recipes change, so check the pack you buy.

Does Cadbury Dairymilk buttons contain alcohol?

No alcohol is listed. Flavourings can occasionally be carried in alcohol, which most scholars accept.

Is Cadbury Dairymilk buttons halal-certified?

We found no halal label for Cadbury Dairymilk buttons. See the ingredient check above for what needs attention.

More from Cadbury

Similar products

See or correct this product on Open Food Facts

Ingredient data from Open Food Facts (ODbL), retrieved 2026-10-15. Product photos by Open Food Facts contributors, licensed CC BY-SA 3.0. Recipes change — always check the pack. This is an ingredient check, not a halal certification.