Cadbury Brunch bar raisin – is it halal? Product photo

Cadbury

Is Cadbury Brunch bar raisin Halal?

Doubtful

Doubtful — check the source

No haram ingredients are listed, but whey, flavourings, glycerine, E471 (Mono- and diglycerides of fatty acids) and E476 (Polyglycerol polyricinoleate (PGPR)) are doubtful — the source is not stated on the label.

BrandCadbury
Barcode7622201824198
CategoryCereal & protein bars
Record edited on Open Food Facts2026-03-27
Last re-read by us2026-11-06

Ingredients, colour-coded

oat flakes (22 %)sugarglucose syrupraisinsstabiliser (sorbitol)vegetable fats (palm, shea)invert sugar syrupwheat flourrice flourcocoa butterhoney (2 %)cocoa massskimmed milk powderwheat branwhey powder (from milk)humectant (glycerol)ilk fatsaltemulsifiers (soya lecithins, e471, e476)barley malt extractmolassesflavouringmay contain peanutsnutsegg
HaramDoubtfulFineNo concern found

What needs attention

  • DoubtfulWhey

    Whey comes from cheese making, so the rennet question applies: pig rennet is prohibited, rennet from a correctly slaughtered animal is permitted, and rennet from an animal that was not slaughtered is disputed. The pack rarely says which rennet was used. Doubtful unless it came from cheese made with microbial rennet, or the product has a halal logo.

  • DoubtfulFlavourings

    The word "flavouring" does not say what a flavour is made from or dissolved in. Most are plant-based or synthetic, but some are carried in alcohol or glycerol of unstated source, and a few contain animal ingredients. Doubtful unless the pack says plant-based or alcohol-free, or shows a halal logo.

  • DoubtfulGlycerine

    Halal when vegetable glycerine; doubtful if not stated.

  • DoubtfulE471 · Mono- and diglycerides of fatty acids

    One of the most common doubtful additives. Halal if the pack says plant/vegetable origin or is halal-certified or vegan.

  • DoubtfulE476 · Polyglycerol polyricinoleate (PGPR)

    The castor oil part is plant-based; the glycerol part can be animal-derived. Common in chocolate.

Full ingredient list

oat flakes (22 %), sugar, glucose syrup, raisins, stabiliser (sorbitol), vegetable fats (palm, shea), invert sugar syrup, wheat flour, rice flour, cocoa butter, honey (2 %), cocoa mass, skimmed milk powder, wheat bran, whey powder (from milk), humectant (glycerol), ilk fat, salt, emulsifiers (soya lecithins, e471, e476), barley malt extract, molasses, flavouring, may contain peanuts, nuts, egg,

What to check on this pack

The first ingredient listed is oat flake and the list has 25 named ingredients. No halal or dietary label appears in the product data. 5 of the named ingredients need a closer look:

  • whey (doubtful): Whey comes from cheese making, so the rennet question applies: pig rennet is prohibited, rennet from a correctly slaughtered animal is permitted, and rennet from an animal that was not slaughtered is disputed. The pack rarely says which rennet was used. Doubtful unless it came from cheese made with microbial rennet, or the product has a halal logo. To confirm for this product, ask the maker for the source of the whey.
  • flavourings (doubtful): The word "flavouring" does not say what a flavour is made from or dissolved in. Most are plant-based or synthetic, but some are carried in alcohol or glycerol of unstated source, and a few contain animal ingredients. Doubtful unless the pack says plant-based or alcohol-free, or shows a halal logo. To confirm for this product, ask the maker for the source of the flavourings.
  • glycerine (doubtful): Halal when vegetable glycerine; doubtful if not stated. To confirm for this product, ask the maker for the source of the glycerine.
  • E471 (Mono- and diglycerides of fatty acids) (doubtful): One of the most common doubtful additives. Halal if the pack says plant/vegetable origin or is halal-certified or vegan. To confirm for this product, ask the maker for the source of the e471 (mono- and diglycerides of fatty acids).
  • E476 (Polyglycerol polyricinoleate (PGPR)) (doubtful): The castor oil part is plant-based; the glycerol part can be animal-derived. Common in chocolate. To confirm for this product, ask the maker for the source of the e476 (polyglycerol polyricinoleate (pgpr)).

Cadbury Brunch bar raisin: pack details

Pack size32g
Sold inUnited Kingdom
Contains (allergens)gluten, milk, soybeans
May containeggs, nuts, peanuts
AdditivesE322, E420, E422, E471, E476
Nutri-ScoreD
NOVA group4 (an ultra-processed food)

From the Open Food Facts record for this barcode. NOVA is a food-processing scale from 1 to 4 based on the ingredient list, and Nutri-Score runs from A (better) to E. Neither says anything about halal status.

What we found about Cadbury and halal

Cadbury's UK FAQ page, which we read on 3 November 2026, says most Cadbury chocolate is suitable for vegetarians and tells shoppers to check for a vegetarian symbol on the pack. It does not mention halal, gelatine or alcohol, and it gives no halal certification.

Sources: Cadbury UK: FAQs; Mondelēz International: Halal position. More on Cadbury

Is Cadbury Brunch bar raisin vegetarian or vegan?

Cadbury Brunch bar raisin is not labelled vegetarian or vegan. No meat or gelatine is listed, but it contains milk or egg, so it is not vegan; some additives can still be animal-derived.

More on this type of food: Cereal & protein bars: what to check · all Cadbury products checked

Scan it in the shop

This barcode is in the offline list, so the product can be looked up with no signal.

Frequently asked questions

Does Cadbury Brunch bar raisin contain pork?

No pork is listed in the ingredients. Recipes change, so check the pack you buy.

Does Cadbury Brunch bar raisin contain gelatine?

No gelatine is listed. Recipes change, so check the pack you buy.

Does Cadbury Brunch bar raisin contain alcohol?

No alcohol is listed. Flavourings can occasionally be carried in alcohol, which most scholars accept.

Is Cadbury Brunch bar raisin halal-certified?

We found no halal label for Cadbury Brunch bar raisin. See the ingredient check above for what needs attention.

More from Cadbury

Similar products

See or correct this product on Open Food Facts

Ingredient data from Open Food Facts (ODbL), retrieved 2026-10-15. Product photos by Open Food Facts contributors, licensed CC BY-SA 3.0. Recipes change — always check the pack. This is an ingredient check, not a halal certification.