Brioche Pasquier Pains au lait – is it halal? Product photo

Brioche Pasquier

Is Brioche Pasquier Pains au lait Halal?

Doubtful

Doubtful — check the source

No haram ingredients are listed, but E471 (Mono- and diglycerides of fatty acids), flavourings and emulsifier (source not stated) are doubtful — the source is not stated on the label.

BrandBrioche Pasquier
Barcode3256540000698
Record edited on Open Food Facts2026-09-30
Last re-read by us2026-10-15

Ingredients, colour-coded

wheat flour 43%sourdough 21%wheat flour 11%watersaltfresh eggs 11%sugarpastry butterrapeseed oilyeastskimmed milk powder equivalent to 10% reconstituted skimmed milkemulsifier: mono and diglycerides of fatty acidssaltwheat proteinwheat glutencarrot extractflavouringsantioxidant: ascorbic acidmilk protein
HaramDoubtfulFineNo concern found

What needs attention

  • DoubtfulE471 · Mono- and diglycerides of fatty acids

    One of the most common doubtful additives. Halal if the pack says plant/vegetable origin or is halal-certified or vegan.

  • DoubtfulFlavourings

    The word "flavouring" does not say what a flavour is made from or dissolved in. Most are plant-based or synthetic, but some are carried in alcohol or glycerol of unstated source, and a few contain animal ingredients. Doubtful unless the pack says plant-based or alcohol-free, or shows a halal logo.

  • DoubtfulEmulsifier (source not stated)

    The word "emulsifier" does not say which one is used. Several emulsifiers, including E471, are made from glycerol and fatty acids that can come from plants or animal fat, and the pack rarely says which. Doubtful unless the pack names a plant source, or shows a vegetarian, vegan or halal label.

Full ingredient list

wheat flour 43%, sourdough 21%, wheat flour 11%, water, salt, fresh eggs 11%, sugar, pastry butter, rapeseed oil, yeast, skimmed milk powder equivalent to 10% reconstituted skimmed milk, emulsifier: mono and diglycerides of fatty acids, salt, wheat protein, wheat gluten, carrot extract, flavourings, antioxidant: ascorbic acid, milk protein

What to check on this pack

The first ingredient listed is wheat flour 43% and the list has 19 named ingredients. No halal or dietary label appears in the product data. 3 of the named ingredients need a closer look:

  • E471 (Mono- and diglycerides of fatty acids) (doubtful): One of the most common doubtful additives. Halal if the pack says plant/vegetable origin or is halal-certified or vegan. To confirm for this product, ask the maker for the source of the e471 (mono- and diglycerides of fatty acids).
  • flavourings (doubtful): The word "flavouring" does not say what a flavour is made from or dissolved in. Most are plant-based or synthetic, but some are carried in alcohol or glycerol of unstated source, and a few contain animal ingredients. Doubtful unless the pack says plant-based or alcohol-free, or shows a halal logo. To confirm for this product, ask the maker for the source of the flavourings.
  • emulsifier (source not stated) (doubtful): The word "emulsifier" does not say which one is used. Several emulsifiers, including E471, are made from glycerol and fatty acids that can come from plants or animal fat, and the pack rarely says which. Doubtful unless the pack names a plant source, or shows a vegetarian, vegan or halal label. To confirm for this product, ask the maker for the source of the emulsifier (source not stated).

Brioche Pasquier Pains au lait: pack details

Pack sizex10 (350g)
Sold atAuchan, Carrefour, Cora, G20, Intermarché, Leclerc
Sold inBelgium, France, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States
Made or packed inFrance
Contains (allergens)eggs, gluten, milk
May containnuts, peanuts, soybeans
AdditivesE300, E471
Nutri-ScoreC
NOVA group4 (an ultra-processed food)

From the Open Food Facts record for this barcode. NOVA is a food-processing scale from 1 to 4 based on the ingredient list, and Nutri-Score runs from A (better) to E. Neither says anything about halal status.

Is Brioche Pasquier Pains au lait vegetarian or vegan?

Brioche Pasquier Pains au lait is not labelled vegetarian or vegan. No meat or gelatine is listed, but it contains milk or egg, so it is not vegan; some additives can still be animal-derived.

Scan it in the shop

This barcode is in the offline list, so the product can be looked up with no signal.

Frequently asked questions

Does Brioche Pasquier Pains au lait contain pork?

No pork is listed in the ingredients. Recipes change, so check the pack you buy.

Does Brioche Pasquier Pains au lait contain gelatine?

No gelatine is listed. Recipes change, so check the pack you buy.

Does Brioche Pasquier Pains au lait contain alcohol?

No alcohol is listed. Flavourings can occasionally be carried in alcohol, which most scholars accept.

Is Brioche Pasquier Pains au lait halal-certified?

We found no halal label for Brioche Pasquier Pains au lait. See the ingredient check above for what needs attention.

Other products we checked

See or correct this product on Open Food Facts

Ingredient data from Open Food Facts (ODbL), retrieved 2026-10-15. Product photos by Open Food Facts contributors, licensed CC BY-SA 3.0. Recipes change — always check the pack. This is an ingredient check, not a halal certification.